SYDNEY 10 Preview: Road running legend Lisa Weightman and Tall v Goddard

Published Thu 16 May 2024

16 May 2024

SYDNEY 10 Preview: Road running legend Lisa Weightman and Tall v Goddard


The men’s and women’s fields for the 16th edition of the Sydney 10 have attracted strong line-ups including the race record holders for Sunday’s race around Sydney Olympic Park. Four-time Olympic marathon representative, and Victorian Lisa Weightman, heads the women’s field, while in the men’s, defending champion Ed Goddard takes on two-time winner and race record holder, Kieren Tall, for the honour of being crowned NSW State title.

The Sydney 10 race incorporates the NSW 10km Road Running Championships, first held in 1927 and will conduct its 93rd edition this year. Sydney Olympic Park, became the home of the Sydney 10 in 2008, after the State Championships had been held in many locations including Manly, Centennial Park and Holsworthy Army Base. We recognise the great event the Sydney Striders club developed prior to 2008. The club continues to be an integral part of the event, providing dozens of pace runners who sacrifice their own race to assist others athletes to run PBs.

In 2021 Kieren Tall clocked the current race record of 28:55 as he defeated 2:11.51 marathoner Tom do Canto. Kieren defended the title in 2022. Last year Ed Goddard was not pushed, cruising to victory by near 30 seconds in a time of 29:22, but he can expect a tougher battle this year, largely from Kieren Tall, now under the coaching of Mark Newton. It certainly won’t be a two-horse race with Luke Hince and Tasmanian World XC representative Sam Clifford expected to be in the battle. Luke has placed ninth in the last two editions of the race. Canberra’s Daniel Dreher, seventh last year, has been making good progress in the last few years under coach Gerard Ryan.
Bankstown have a strong team with Hamish Longworth, Harry McGill, and Charlie Doherty in the field.

A legend of the event, and the first Sydney 10 winner in 2008, Russell Dessaix Chin, starts with the elite field. His winning time 17 years ago was an impressive 29:45. He also won four NSW 10km State titles in his distinguished running career.

Another legend of the event is 5-time NSW 10km road running champion Paul Arthur, who also starts in the elite group. Formerly with St George, Paul now lives and coaches on the Central Coast. He won five consecutive titles in the ‘90s clocking a fastest time of 29:27.

An interesting entry is NSW’s most recently crowned world champion, junior race walker Issac Beacroft. A very handy runner, the 16-year-old has won National junior distance running medals. He is aiming for around 32 minutes.

After her record running performance in 2022, Victorian Lisa Weightman returns to the Sydney 10 in 2024. Two years ago she ran the stunning time of 31:21, a time which better the two previous fastest times by American triathlete Gwen Jorgensen who clocked 32:12 (in 2015) and 32:21 (in 2014). Lisa has clocked two sub-2:25 marathons in the last five months and was 16th in the marathon at the 2023 World Championships.

The battle for the podium behind Lisa will be intriguing. Victorian two-time world cross country representative Gemma Maini looks to be one of the strongest.
On paper, it looks to be a four-way battle for the NSW State title. 2021 winner, Lauren Reid, 2016 NSW XC champion Kate Spencer and Run Crew teammates Abi Nordberg and Rebecca Lowe all look to have podium potential. Another to watch will be last year’s fifth placegetter, Delta Project’s Bronwyn Hager.

Sydney 10 Event Facts

When? Sunday 19 May 2024
Where? Sydney Olympic Park, Homebush

6:50 AM - 10km Elite Wheelchair
7:20 AM - 10km (Elite and sub-40 mins)
7:45 AM - 10km (40-50 mins)
8:15 AM - 10km (50 mins+)
9:10 AM - 5km (Wheelchair)
9:15 AM - 5km (NSW Championship Wave)
9:20 AM - 5km (Fun Run)
9:55 AM - 2.5km (NSW Championship Wave)
10:00 AM - 2.5km (Family Fun Run)

NSW Road running championships will be held over the following distances in these ages.

2.5km – U10, U12, U12 Para, U14 (+ teams)
5km - U15 Para, U16, U17 Para, U18 (+ teams)
10km – U20, U20 Para, Open, Open Ambulant, Open wheelchair, Masters (from 30 in 5 year ages)

The race runs along the iconic Olympic Boulevard and finishes inside the Sydney Olympic Park Athletics Centre.


David Tarbotton for Athletics NSW
Image: 2023 Sydney 10 (image courtesy of David Tarbotton