Classification Master List 

Maple Services the official Community Health and Wellbeing Partner:

Maple Services is a leading community services provider dedicated to enhancing the lives of individuals with diverse abilities, with a particular focus on the youth and disability sectors. With a person-centered approach, Maple Services offers a wide range of disability support services that empower individuals to actively participate in their communities and achieve their goals. Through their commitment to fostering inclusivity and promoting the holistic wellbeing of people with disabilities, Maple Services plays a crucial role in creating a more equitable society.



Athletes aged 8 years and above are eligible to obtain a classification.

For a physical impairment, please fill out the provision classification form found on the AA website here


Physical Impairment classifications are conducted by Athletics Australia


Step 1: Fill out the provisional Classification form on the AA website here and sumbit application (along with medical supporting documents) here.

Provisional classification allows athletes to compete up to and including state level competitions. 


Step 2: Athletes wishing to be natioanlly classified or currently hold a national classification with a "Review" status must attend a National Classification opportunity in order to compete at an Australian Championships.


Types of Classification:

T/F 31-38: Athletes with cerebral palsy

  • F31-34: These athletes compete in a seated position, in a throwing chair.
  • T32-34: These athletes compete in wheelchair racing events.
  • T35-38: These athletes compete in running events.
  • F35-38: These athletes compete in standing events.
  • T/F 40-41: Athletes with short stature.
  • T/F 42-44: Athletes with impairment in one or both legs, often requiring a prosthetic. Also includes athletes with impaired muscle power, impaired range of movement or leg length differences.
  • T45-47: Athletes with impairment in one or both arms.


T51-54: Wheelchair athletes

  • T51-52 have impairment in upper and lower limbs, 
  • T53 have fully functioning arms but no trunk function 
  • T54 have partial trunk and leg functions.


F51-57: Wheelchair field athletes

  1. F51-53 have limited function in shoulders, arms and hands and no trunk or leg function, such as athletes with a spinal cord injury. 
  2. F54 have full arm and hand’s function.
  3. F55-57 have increasing levels of trunk and leg function.
  4. T/F 61-64 Athletes with a leg deficiency who compete with a prosthesis.


More information can be found here

Paralympics Australia is responsible for managing classification opportunities for athletes with a vision impairment.

Types of classification: 

T11-13: Athletes in these classifications have varying levels of visual impairment.

Athletes in T (and F) 11 are required to wear eyeshades to ensure a fair competition. 


More information can be found here

Deaf Sports Australia (DSA) is the national sports organisation that are responsible for Hearing Impaired classifications.

Athletes must first obtain an Audiogram through a hearing test. Once the athlete obtains an Audiogram they can complete stage 2. 


Types of Classification: 



More information can be found here

Sport Inclusion Australia (SIA) are the national organisation responsible for classifying athletes with an Intellectual Impairment. 


Tpes of classification:



More information can be found here


If you have any questions regarding Para Athletes in NSW, please contact us here 

If you have any further questions regarding physical impairments classification, please contact Jessica Pascoe or 03 8646 4577.