Run Crew double at XC Relays

Published Sun 05 Jun 2022

5 June 2022

Run Crew double at XC Relays

Run Crew’s men's and women's open teams defended their NSW Cross Country Relay titles at the 31st edition of the event held at Upjohn Park in Rydalmere on a beautiful winters days on Saturday. Parts of the course were muddy, but generally the course had not been too affected by the constant rain during 2022. The race returned to a regular venue used for the NSW Short Course Cross Country in the early 2010s.


The open men’s 4x4km race was an exciting event with the lead see-sawing throughout. Sydney University put in a very consistent performance with all A team members in the top-15 splits and even their B team lead-off was in the top-15, but it would be Run Crew with two sub-12:20 times and the fastest (Kieren Tall) and fourth fastest (Ben St Lawrence) splits, with enough to take the title ahead of Sydney University 50:11 to 50:22. There was an even closer battle for the bronze medal with just one second the margin as UTS Norths, who led going into the fourth leg, holding off a storming anchor by Bankstown’s Aaron Spiessberger – Parker.

Of note was the opening leg where we witnessed the second and third fastest splits of 12:11 and 12:12 by Ed Goddard and Luke Hince respectively. Luke is the son of two former state champions from the ‘90s Brendon (NSW Half 1996) and Lorraine (nee Davis, State XC 1995 and Novice 1994).

Medals: Run Crew 50:11, Sydney University 50:22, UTN 50:44

Men’s Open 4km Splits

Kieren Tall RCR 12:10

Ed Goddard UTN 12:11

Luke Hince KEJ 12:12

Ben St Lawrence RCR 12:18

Alexander Gruen VIC 12:20

Aaron Spiessberger-Parker BAN 12:22

Leo Peterson UTN 12:26

Luke Scholfield SYU 12:28

Lachlan Townsend SYU 12:33

Bailey Habler RBH 12:33

Martin Cooper SYU 12:37

Harrison McGill BAN 12:39

Ben Bishop SYU 12:40

Dylan Offord SYU 12:41

Sam Hopper DET 12:44

Matthew Cox RCR 12:45

Lachlan Bryant UTN 12:45

Brandon Martin RCR2 12:45




Although UTS Norths led on the first leg, through a strong run from Kate Spencer, Run Crew would soon take the lead, going away to win by nearly five minutes. Run Crew’s second leg hero was Abi Nordberg who clocked the day’s fastest leg of 13:45. There was action a plenty for places second to fourth. Sydney University third on leg one, moved up to the silver position on the second leg. The last two legs were a tussle with UTS Norths, who took home the silver with a time of 61:36, ahead of Sydney University 61:44, with the ever-present Run Crew B team in fourth with 62:08. Run Crew dominated with seven of the top-12 splits.

Medals: Run Crew 56:53, UTN 61:36, Sydney University 61:44

Women’s Open 4km Splits

Abi Nordberg RCR 13:45

Aynslee Van Graan RCR 13:57

Kate Spencer UTN 13:59

Niamh Allen RCR 14:06

Lucy Mauviel SYU 14:37

Laura Roderick SYU 14:58

Anna Laman RCR 15:05

Amelia Gorman TRT 15:05

Helena Eastham RCR2 15:10

Katie Conlon RCR2 15:23

Natalea Smith RCR2 15:26

Aspen Lambert SYU 15:33

Madeleine Duffin UTN 15:41

Mia Fry UTN 15:52


David Tarbotton for Athletics NSW

Image: Kieren Tall (courtesy of David Tarbotton)