2024 Sydney Track Classic: Fun facts and things to watch

Published Sat 23 Mar 2024

23 March 2024

#Onthisday 23 March at the 1980 Australian championships, at ES Marks, two Australian records were set: 400m 45.35 Rick Mitchell and 200m 22.35 Denise Robertson-Boyd.

  • The high jump referee today, David Morrow, will have fond memories of this meet, winning the 1980 Australian high jump championships at this venue.

Tim Forsyth achieved Australia's first 2.30m jump at this venue in 1991.

  • Our four U23 high jumpers Alexandra Harrison, Izzi Louison-Roe, Erin Shaw and Toby Stolberg have all hit top form last week. Toby and Alex broke three and two-year-old PBs, Erin cleared her highest outdoor jump since the 2022 world juniors and Izzi won the open NSW open title.
  • The men’s 400m has five sub-46 Aussie athletes.
  • The women’s 3000m has eight Olympians who have been to 13 Games.
  • The battle for the podium places in the women’s 3000m will be fascinating. Could athletes like Georgia Griffith, Sarah Billings, Cara Feain-Ryan, Maudie Skyring, Amy Bunnage breakthrough here at this distance and threaten the favourites?
  • Women’s 100m has six ladies with no clear favourite and a battle for the National relay team which should make Paris. So Olympic berths are on the line.
  • The consistent form of Yual Reath in the high jump could see him finish ahead of Joel Baden, and approach 2.30m.
  • The last Sydney Track Classic at ES Marks Athletics Field was the Mars Challenge on 30 January 1994.
  • Just one official from the last Sydney Track Classic at ES Marks Athletics Field, 30-years-ago, will again officiate this year – Janet Nixon. Others from 1994 who are still regulars are Kirsten Crocker (nee Mitchell), Betty Moore and coach Frank Overton.
  • Other interesting names competing in 1994 were: Andrew Murphy, Greg Wiencke, David Culbert (110m hurdles!), Steve Perry, Matt Woodhouse, Matt Beckenham and Melinda Gainsford.
  • The first Australian Championships held at the venue were the men’s Nationals in 1962. Subsequent Nationals held there were: men 1968, men 1973, men/women 1980, men/women 1987 and men/women 1991.
  • The venue is named after the former Lord Mayor of Sydney, Ernest Samuel Marks. He was a significant sports administrator with athletics, swimming, rugby union and surfing along with the Commonwealth Games and Olympics. He was a founder of Athletics NSW.


David Tarbotton for Athletics NSW

Image: Eleanor Patterson (courtesy of David Tarbotton)


: Sydney Track Classic

Where: ES Marks Field/Sydney Athletics Field, Kensington, Sydney

Date: Saturday 23 March 2024

Time: Gates open 3.00pm, Pre-event Program 4.00-5.30pm, Main Program 5.30-7.30pm

Tickets: https://www.ticketebo.com.au/athletics-nsw/sydney-track-classic-2024

More information: https://www.nswathletics.org.au/events-page/sydney-track-classic/