10 Facts: NSW Cross Country Relay Championships

Published Fri 31 May 2024

31 May 2024

10 Facts: NSW Cross Country Relay Championships

Ahead of tomorrow’s NSW Cross Country relays, some fun historical facts about the event.

  • 2023 champions Men – Bankstown, women – Run Crew.
  • 2024 is the 33rd edition of the race.
  • Run Crew women have won the last three consecutive titles.
  • The event has mostly been a 4x4km event, but once the men’s event was 6x4km, five times the women’s race was 3x4km.
  • The first championship was at Willandra in Nowra 1991. It was the first NSW State Championship held at the iconic XC venue.
  • Venues over the three plus decades have been: The Crest, Abbotsbury, Scarborough Park, North Ryde, Upjohn Park and 21 occasions at the Miranda course.
  • Most wins – women: 6 by Sutherland and Sydney Uni; men: 14 by Randwick Botany.
  • Inaugural winners in 1991 Men – Wests, Women Bankstown.
  • Smaller clubs to have won: women – Nowra and Sydney Pacific; men - Sydney Pacific.

David Tarbotton for Athletics NSW

Image: 2012 NSW Cross Country Relays (image courtesy of David Tarbotton)