Wednesday, 27 July 2016


Your guide to the SYDNEY:10

Your guide to the SYDNEY:10

Author: Athletics NSW Administrator/Wednesday, 16 April 2014/Categories: News

The SYDNEY:10 continues to grow in prestige and in 2014 will incorporate the national 10km road championships ensuring a more elite field than ever.  In this article we outline everything you need to know about the race.


What: 10km road race

Competitors: elite, fun runners and all ages

Date: Saturday 3 May

Where: Sydney Oympic Park Athletic Centre, Dawn Fraser Ave

Timetable/Events: 7.15am wheelchair 10km; 7.45am 10km; 9.05am 5km, 9.45am 2.5km


The race will include the Australian 10km road race championships. Four member state teams will also compete for the teams championship.

Previous winners: 2013 (Launceston) Lisa Weightman 33:22 & Ben St Lawrence 29:09; 2012 (Launceston) Lisa  Weightman 32:47 and Michael Shelley 28:44. 


The race incorporates the state road championships for ages under-12 to open and masters. The first championship was held in 1927 they have built a long and rich history won by many of NSW’s finest distance runners including: Kerryn McCann, Liz Miller, Lara Tamsett, Jeff Hunt, Scott Westcott, Al Lawrence, John Farrington, Dave Power, Paul Arthur, Jamie Harrison, Andrew Lloyd and John Andrews.


The prestige of the national title has ensured a quality field for the 2014 race. Already confirmed are:

Cameron Page (N) - National 5000m champion

Jeff Hunt (N) – Olympian

Ben Moreau (N) – 2013 City to Surf winner, British international

Tom Do Canto (N) – medallist SYDNEY:10

Martin Dent (A) – Olympian, form NSW 10km road champion

Duer Yuoa (V) – 2011 World cross country representative

Brendan Sexton (N) – Olympic triathlete

Aaron Royal (N) – Triathlete world U23 champion, selected for Glasgow

Emma Jackson (Q) – Triathlon London Olympics

Clare Geraghty (Q) – Australian half marathon and cross country champion

Casey Wood (SA) - Defending Sydney:10 Champion

Jess Tengrove (S) - Olympian

Victoria Mitchell (V) – Olympian, selected for Glasgow Commonwealth games

Gwen Jorgensen (USA) – Olympic triathlete

Barbara Riveros (Chile) – dual Olympic triathlete

Charlotte McShane (V) - World U/23 Triathlon Champion


Online: until 9.00am 1 May  Sydney:10 website

Late entries in person: from 11am Friday 2 May & 5.45am Sat 3 May – VIP Room 2 Sydney Olympic Park Athletics Centre


10km – Australian Road Running Championships, NSW Road Championship (open & masters)

10km – Wheelchair race

5km – NSW U20/U18/U16 Road Championship

2.5km – NSW U14/U12 Road Championship


There is a change to the start and finish areas for the 2014 course. The race will start on Dawn Fraser Ave across from the Sydney Olympic Park Athletics Centre and finish in the athletics centre. The 10km race is two laps, while the 5km is one lap and 2.5km half of the course.


The event offers the opportunity for those involved in the growing Parkrun movement to compete. Awards will be given to the top-4 in the 5km and 10km and for the home Parkrun with the most finishes (a ratio to total membership).


See Sydney:10 website   For information on entry costs, timing system/bibs, water/toilet stops, baggage area, presentations, prizemoney and mush more.


Facebook Sydney:10 and Athletics NSW

Twitter:  @SydneyTen and @NSWAthletics  

Athletics NSW website

David Tarbotton and Ron Bendall for Athletics NSW

Image: Athletes competing in the 2012 Sydney:10  (Image courtesy of David Tarbotton)


Number of views (1777)/Comments (0)


News Archive