Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Fifth consecutive win for Sydney Uni women as Botany take the men’s honours

Fifth consecutive win for Sydney Uni women as Botany take the men’s honours

Author: David Tarbotton & Ron Bendall/Sunday, 28 May 2017/Categories: News

28 May 2017


Fifth consecutive win for Sydney Uni women as Botany take the men’s honours


The 27th NSW Cross Country Relay championships, part of the Waratah Run Series, were conducted at the spectator friendly Miranda course for the 19th occasion. The open races were in contrast. with a close battle in the men’s event where Randwick Botany held off Bankstown, while in the women’s event, Sydney University dominated, claiming their fifth consecutive title.



OPEN WOMEN 4x4km Relay

Sydney University led from the gun, with Emily Ryan the star leading the first leg runners, clocking 14:23, the fastest split of the day. Also, impressive on the first legs for their clubs were Lauren McKillop (RBH) 14:31 and Elese Gallen (UTN) 14:38. On the second leg, Sydney University ran away with the race, courtesy of a strong run by Holly Campbell who split of 14:42, put the team 36 seconds adrift of second placed Botany. Sarah Marvin (15:37) and Lara Hamilton (14:49) closed for Sydney Uni as they won in a time of 59:31, ahead of Randwick Botany (59:31) and Sydney University B team (62:50).


It was encouraging to see a few new teams running in 2017. Rejoov Runners finished ahead of many well established teams, including Athletics East, Hills, Kembla Joggers and St George.  Rachel’s Runners were on debut and there were three teams from The Running Movement club.


Fastest legs

Emily Ryan           SYU        14:23

Lauren McKillop  RBH        14:31

Elese Gallen         UTN       14:38

Holly Campbell    SYU        14:42

Lara Hamilton     SYU        14:49


OPEN MEN 4x4km Relay

The men’s race was a close battle throughout the four legs, with just six seconds separating them at the tape. Mark De Luca, led off for the favourites Randwick Botany, but with many of the big guns on the opening leg, he found the going tough bring the team across the line in seventh place. There were some impressive runs by Brad Milosevic (GIR, 12:30) celebrating his selection this week in the marathon for the 2017 IAAF world championships. Just ahead of him was the Australian 10,000m record holder Ben St Lawrence (STG) who clocked 12:27. Just 16 seconds behind St Lawrence, was the 16-year-old Jackson Sharp (BLM), whom he coaches.


Randwick Botany ran junior Zac Facioni on the second leg and his solid time of 12:47 took his team into the lead just two second ahead of Bankstown, who were emerging as their biggest rival. The baton was passed into safe hands for Randwick Botany on the third leg as 2011 NSW Cross Country champion, Courtney Carter took charge. But Bankstown were not to be denied and Bryce Anderson stuck with Carter, giving away just three seconds. Carter had clocked 12:30 and Edwards 12:33. The scene was set for a showdown on the last leg. Again, Randwick Botany were to be served by the experience with NSW 5000m and 10km road champion Matt Hudson wearing the blue and gold, but again Bankstown showed they were up for the challenge with Matt Dempsey running a tremendous anchor leg. Hudson hung on to win by six seconds in a time of 50:26, with Bankstown second 50:32, with defending champions UTN Norths third 51:59.


On debut, Rejoov runners were outstanding placing eighth and 12th amongst the 24 teams, similarly The Running Movement put two teams on the line for this exciting event.


Fastest Legs

Matt Hudson       RBH       12:21

Matt Dempsey     BAN       12:22

Ben St Lawrence  STG        12:27

Brad Milosevic     GIR         12:30

Courtney Carter  RBH       12:30

Bryce Anderson   BAN       12:33

Jack Stapleton     UTN       12:39

Joe Burgess          SYU        12:41

Brady Goodyear  ILL          12:42

Jackson Sharp      BLM       12:43

Zac Facioni           RBH       12:47

Mark De Luca       RBH       12:48

Ed Goddard         BAN       12:47


David Tarbotton and Ron Bendall for Athletics NSW

Image: Start open men’s race (image courtesy of Ewa Facioni)


Number of views (2527)/Comments (0)

E-News archives
E-news sign-up

Stay up to date with the latest news

* indicates required
News Archive