Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Bankstown club claim winter honours

Bankstown club claim winter honours

Author: David Tarbotton & Ron Bendall/Wednesday, 27 December 2017/Categories: News

27 December 2017

Bankstown club claim winter honours


For the seventh consecutive year, Bankstown club have claimed the Athletics NSW Winter Club Trophy. The award, which recognises the leading winter club across cross country and road running, was dominated by Bankstown. They placed either first or second in the nine categories leading six of them.


Bankstown increased their winning margin from 333 points to 815 points in 2017. They scored 2444 points, finishing ahead of Sydney Striders on 1629 points and Kembla Joggers with 1218 points.


Distance Runner of the Year

The men’s title was so close it was a tie between Ed Goddard UTS and Martin Cooper SYU, with both recording 42 points. Goddard scored from just four races, which included two wins in the NSW Cross Country Championships (XCC Challenge) and NSW Short Course Cross Country.  He was also fifth in the Sydney:10.  Cooper was consistant across five events, including seventh in three championships. Third was Sydney Uni’s Joe Burgess, just two points behind on 40 points.


In the women’s competition, Athletics Easts’ Rebecca Holmes won comfortably with 41 points, ahead of Cheryl Chan (SYU) 35 points and Elese Gallen (UTN) 33 points. Holmes was particularly strong in the State Cross Country Championships (third) and Sydney Half (fourth).


Distance Walker of the Year

Jay Felton (UTN) and Amanda Barendregt (NEP) have claimed the distance walkers of the year titles for 2017. Felton just edged training partner Carl Gibbons (WTL) by one point. Felton won two events and was third in another, while Gibbons was second in the three scoring events. Barendregt was a more comfortable winner on 40 points. In second was former Olympian and NSW Little Athletics Association development officer Chery Webb (BLA) on 30 points from two wins.



Points: 2444 - BAN, 1629 – SSR, 1218 – KEJ, 986 – SUT, 911 – SGD, 803 – HIL

First Championship: 1999 (winners Sutherland)

Most wins: 8-KEJ, 7-BAN, 4-SUT.




Girls U12 – SGD

Boys U12 – SGD

Girls U14 – SSR

Boys U14 – SSR

Girls U16 – SSR

Boys U16 – KEJ

Girls U18 – KEJ

Boys U18 - SSR

Girls U20 – UTN

Boys U20 – SSR

Women Open – SYU

Men Open – SYU

Women 35-44 yrs – BAN

Men 35-44 Yrs – BAN

Women 45-54 yrs – BAN

Men 45-54 yrs – BAN

Women 55-64 yrs – BAN

Men 55-64 yrs – BAN

Men 65-74 yrs – BAN

Men 75+ yrs – BAN


Full 2017 winter pointscore are available at winter scores.


David Tarbotton and Ron Bendall for Athletics NSW

Image: Athletics NSW President Peter Higgins (middle) presents the Winter Club Trophy to Bankstown President Colin Whitbread (left) and Matthew Whitbread.  (courtesy of David Tarbotton)



Number of views (1386)/Comments (0)

E-News archives
E-news sign-up

Stay up to date with the latest news

* indicates required
News Archive