Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

Sydney Uni wins Open Pennant

Author: Athletics NSW Administrator/Monday, 23 January 2012/Categories: News


23 January 2012

Sydney Uni wins Open Pennant

Sydney University has taken out the Open Pennant in this season’s Athletics NSW Club Premiership.

Cherrybrook took out the Junior Pennant while UTS Norths won the Masters Pennant.

Riding on the success of their Masters athletes, UTS Norths won the overall competition for the fourth successive year.

This is the first season Athletics NSW has introduced the three Pennants and Sydney Uni’s Dean Gleeson is delighted and proud of his club’s achievement.

``In every other sport, the top club is determined by their success in open competition,’’ he said.

``In athletics it should be no different.’’

Sydney Uni topped the open pointscore with 3768 points to UTS Norths’ 3315.5 and Bankstown’s 2279.

Uni built up a huge lead in the first three rounds of the nine round competition and from there were never headed.

Cherrybrook amassed 5770.3 points to win the Junior Pennant from UTS Norths (4823.8) and Blacktown (3495).

UTS Norths’ amazingly won the Masters Pennant by more than 3200 points. They scored 5040 to Hills’ 1801.7 and Sydney Pacific’s 1623.5 points.

UTS Norths’ won the overall Club Premiership by the biggest margin since the current format of the competition was introduced 10 years ago.

After finishing runner-up to Sydney Uni in the first two rounds, UTS Norths won every one of the remaining eight rounds, including the State Relays round, to make it four straight wins and eclipse Illawong’s previous record of three successive wins in the current format.

Cherrybrook finished second with Illawong third.

Wollongong’s Jaimee-Lee Starr was the star of the final round of Club Premiership on Thursday night taking out the open women’s 400m in convincing fashion.

The Melbourne Commonwealth Games rep, who won in 54.12s, looked to be on track for an even faster time before tying up in the last 50m.

On a night during which windy conditions prevented fast times, young guns Josh Clarke (UTS Norths) and Jarrod Geddes (Illawong) were outstanding, running the fastest times of the meet.

Competing in the under-20 100m, Clarke won in 10.68 while Geddes was runner-up in 10.82.

Geddes’ coach Michael Dooley was pleased with his charge’s effort.

``It was his first run back from a hamstring injury,’’ he said.

``He ran the time I expected he would and I am just glad he made it through in one piece.’’

Sutherland’s Ellie Graf was the fastest of the women winning in 12.36s from Wollongong youngster Abbie Taddeo (12.53).

Illawong’s Sam Geddes won the under -17 event in 12.59s.

UTS Norths’ Ali Bartholomew won the under 20 women’s 400m in a pb and National Youth Championships qualifying time of 58.30s. ``I didn’t realise it was a national qualifier. I’m really pleased with that,’’ she said.

Her clubmate Fran Schmiede, who has just been accepted into law at the ANU, was a convincing winner of the 1500m in the solid time of 4:39.33. The former Pymble Ladies College student led from the start and made every post a winner.

James Connor made it a UTS Norths 1500m double winning the men’s race in 3:54.75s.

Sutherland youngster Emmanuel Fakiye turned in the best triple jump of the night, taking out the under 17 comp with a leap of 13.31m.

Sydney Pacific’s Nick Fuller was an easy winner of the men’s 400m hurdles in 55.40s, Bankstown’s Mathew Cox was an easy winner of the 3000m steeplechase in 9:19.21 and Michelle Jenneke (Cherrybrook) easily won the women’s 200m hurdles in 28.41s.

Brandon Starc (Parramatta) thrilled the crowd with his 2.16m clearance in difficult conditions.

Macquarie Hunter’s Ben Fitzgerald, 17, threw the 1.5kg discus 55.15m to win the under 20 years comp.

By Ron Bendall and David Tarbotton for UTS Norths

Image: UTS Norths’ Liz Clay contests the under 20 years women’s hurdles in Round 9 of Club Premiership. (Courtesy of David Tarbotton)



Number of views (1655)/Comments (0)

E-News archives
E-news sign-up

Stay up to date with the latest news

* indicates required
News Archive