Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Athletics NSW volunteers named finalists in the NSW Community Sports Awards

Athletics NSW volunteers named finalists in the NSW Community Sports Awards

Author: David Tarbotton & Ron Bendall/Wednesday, 22 May 2019/Categories: News

21 May 2019


Athletics NSW volunteers named finalists in the NSW Community Sports Awards


Athletics NSW is thrilled to be informed that three volunteers and one of our events has been recognised as finalists in the prestigious 2019 NSW Community Sports Awards announced yesterday. It is a tremendous achievement as just six volunteers or events are named as finalists in each category annually.


Long serving technical official John Morris (NOW) is named a finalist in the Community Official of the Year award. It follows his recognition last week as the Athletics NSW Official of the Year. In addition to his many hours trackside as an official, John is a mentor to many officials around Australia.


Julie Charlton (CHE) has been named a finalist in the Young Coach of the Year category. Herself a wheelchair athlete, she specialists in coaching para-athletes. Extraordinarily although only a teenager, Julie coaches athletes ranging from primary school age to double her age. Her athletes have won hundreds of state medals, won many more at national championships and last month competed internationally at the Arafura Games.


Cherrybrook Vice-President, Nicky Jenneke is named a finalist in the Community Sport Administrator of the Year award. Nicky is described as the ‘life and soul of her club’. She is full of enthusiasm and everything she does is for the kids. Examples of the many roles she performances for the club, include liaising with the local Council, managing the canteen on training nights, organising team clothing and State merchandise, sends out reminders via SMS messages to remind athletes of deadlines. Nicky has an unsurpassed energy and passion for the club.

The joint Athletics NSW/Athletics Australia event - RunWest was also named a finalist in the Community Event of the Year category. In the inaugural year of the event an amazing 7,500 athletes competed, exceeding many events in their first year like the City to Surf and Sydney Marathon.


Two Athletics NSW members will also receive Distinguished Long Service Awards. They have served athletics in NSW for 58 and 59 years. We will feature articles on them in the future.


The awards winners will be announced 20 June 2019 at NSW Parliament House.


David Tarbotton for Athletics NSW

Image: Nicky Jenneke at recent Athletics NSW Awards



Number of views (1047)/Comments (0)

E-News archives
E-news sign-up

Stay up to date with the latest news

* indicates required
News Archive