Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Clubs, athletes, officials & volunteers honoured at 2019 ANSW Awards

Clubs, athletes, officials & volunteers honoured at 2019 ANSW Awards

Author: David Tarbotton & Ron Bendall/Monday, 13 May 2019/Categories: News

13 May 2019

Clubs, athletes, officials & volunteers honoured at 2019 ANSW Awards

On Saturday night at the 2019 Athletics NSW Annual Awards over 180 people celebrated our great year of athletics which commenced at the Commonwealth Games in April. Recognised were officials, volunteers, coaches, clubs and of course the athletes who made it a year to remember.

No surprise athletes of the year were Commonwealth Games gold medallists Dani Stevens and Brandon Starc, while Nick Hough’s win in the nationals was rated the best performance at the Australian Championships.

Two long serving volunteers were awarded Life Membership, track official Barry Pecar and coach/educator Lindsay Watson were bestowed with well-deserved honours.

There were special achievement awards for Matt Rawlings for his work with para-athletics and Dan Suchy for the outstanding Westfields Sports High and Athletics programs which has developed so many athletes.


A full list of award winners is below. During the next weeks we will profile many of the winners.


Richard Coombes Memorial Award for Most Outstanding Male Athlete - Brandon Starc (PAR)

R.H. North/ W. Wilson Award for Most Outstanding Female Athlete - Dani Stevens (WES)

George Soper Memorial Award for Best Performance by a NSW Athlete at Australian Championships - Nick Hough (SYU)

Life Membership - Barry Pecar (RYD) & Lindsay Watson (BAN)

Chairperson's Award - EJ Davie (SSR)

People's Choice Award - Brandon Starc (PAR) - his Australian record

Special Achievement Award - Dan Suchy (WES), Matt Rawlings (HIL)

Service Merit Award - Andrew Atkinson-Howatt (NMA) & Matt Rawlings (HIL)


Official of the Year - John Morris

Novice Official of the Year - Stephen Foley


International Coach of the Year - Alex Stewart

International Para-athletics Coach of the Year - Andrew Dawes

Club Coach of the Year - Belinda Cosgrove (BAN)

Country Coach of the Year - Matt Horsnell (MIN)

Recreational Running Coach of the Year - Warren Williams (RBH)



Treloar Shield - UTS Norths

Winter Trophy - Bankstown Sports

Champion Club of the Year - Sydney Unversity

Metropolitan Club of the Year - UTS Norths

Country Club of the Year - Mingara

Club Development Award of the Year - Cherrybrook

Club Champions - not awarded in 2018/19

Administrator of the Year - Colin Whitbread (BAN)


Most Outstanding Para Athlete (senior) - Kurt Fearnley (MQH)

Most Outstanding Para Athlete (junior) - Erin Cleaver (MQH)

G.P.S. Parkes Memorial Award for Male Distance Runner of the year - Ed Goddard (UTN)

Doris Magee Award for Female Distance Runner of the year - Noni Cooper (SUT)

Dorothy Dorsett Memorial Award for Male Distance Walker of the year - Tyler Jones (MIN)

Doris Clark Award for Female Distance Walker of the year - Chelsea Goodhew (WTL)


2019 Event Group Athlete of the Year    

Sprints/Hurdles (Open) - Nick Hough (SYU)

Sprints/Hurdles (Junior) - Bendere Oboya (CBT)

Sprints/Hurdles (Masters) - Sally Stagles (CHE)

Middle Distance (Open) - Jessica Hull (BAN)

Middle Distance (Junior) - Carley Thomas (UTN)

Middle Distance (Masters) - Deborah Drennan (UTN)

Distance (Open) - Morgan McDonald (RBH)

Distance (Junior) - Rose Davies (ADM)

Distance (Masters) - Don Mathewson (HIL)

Walks (Open) - Beki Smith (ASW)

Walks (Junior) - Oscar Tebbutt (GOS)

Walks (Masters) - Anne Weekes (SUT)

Jumps (Open) - Brandon Starc (PAR)

Jumps (Junior) - Samantha Dale (CHE)

Jumps (Masters) - Lenore Lambert (SYP)

Throws (Open) - Dani Stevens (WES)

Throws (Junior) - Aiden Harvey (SYU)

Throws (Masters) - Gabi Watts (NEP)

Cross Country (Open) - Morgan McDonald (RBH) & Paige Campbell (SYU)

Cross Country (Junior) - Lauren Carey (SDG)

Cross Country (Masters) - Ron Schwebel (SSR)

Multis (open) - Kyle Cranston (HIL)

Multis (junior) - Lily Tilt (HIL)

Multi (Masters) - Tim McGrath (UTN)

Nick Winter Memorial Award for Aspiring Triple Jumper - Ryan Marshall (SYP)


David Tarbotton for Athletics NSW

Image: Lindsay Watson & his squad (courtesy of David Tarbotton)



Number of views (1619)/Comments (0)

E-News archives
E-news sign-up

Stay up to date with the latest news

* indicates required
News Archive